Upcoming Releases I’m On the Fence About | Top Ten Tuesday

Hello readers! It’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by Jana over at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is ten upcoming releases I’m on the fence about.

I’m not shy about what I’m excited about. I mean, On the Come Up by Angie Thomas came out today and no doubt I’ve picked up both a digital copy from Audible and a physical copy from my local bricks and mortar bookstore by now.

This was actually a really hard list for me to make–I’ve become more picky about the books I pick up since I have significantly less time to read. A few of them have release dates of today — when I wrote this last week, they were upcoming, for the record. So here are a few I came up with.

TTT Fence

New Kid (audiobook) by Jerry Craft (February 5, 2019). So this book is suggested for fans fo Gene Luen Yang and Raina Telgemeier, which tells me that there are illustrations involved. Quite a bit of my reading comes from audiobooks right now, and I’m wondering if the experience of this audiobook would be like the experience of the Part-Time Indian audiobook: there’s so much in the illustrations that we just don’t get when reading solely in audio form. So the question is: do I go ahead and get the audiobook, or hold out for an ebook copy?

Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy: A Modern Retelling of Little Women by Rey Terciero, illustrated by Bre Indigo (February 5, 2019). This one came up when I clicked on the LGBT coming soon link on Amazon. I’ve had several conversations with my wife about how she’s convinced that one of the sisters (I think Jo, but I’m not sure) is queer, but there was never any evidence of that that I saw. So I’m on the fence. I’d be really disappointed if it was queer-baiting.

We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia (February 26, 2019). The publisher suggests that this one is for fans of Handmaid’s Tale, Zoriada Cordova, and Anne-Marie McLemore. I’m always skeptical when authors are compared to other authors. Sometimes this relationship is overstated and I’m scared of being let down.

Magical Negro: Poems by Morgan Parker (February 5, 2019). Okay, so this would be me stepping way outside my comfort zone again. I don’t frequently engage with poetry outside the novel-in-verse variety or the slam variety. But I’m intrigued by a collection of poems on themes of black womanhood, ancestral trauma, and objectification, among others. I think my reluctance comes from sometimes “not getting” poetry and the time it takes to reflect on poetry in order to understand it. With the limited amount of time I have to read (even though I said I was going to read less and think more), I still feel like I should be reading more. Maybe this is why I should take the time to read poetry.

What books are you unsure about?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.