It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | 06/21/21

Hello readers!

School’s out, my contract with the Public Education Department for reviewing textbooks has ended, and now I’m ready to take a few weeks and dive into even more reading. Hopefully.

In the last few weeks, T and I have read (both in audio and in print) Rae Carson’s Gold Seer Trilogy. I found it to be compelling — a nice mix of history and magic. I’m a fan, most definitely.

I also think it might be time for me to stop saying that I’m not a huge fan of historical fiction. Almost all of the historical fiction I read I enjoy.

So all of that said, let’s jump right into IMWAYR, hosted by the fabulous people over at Unleashing Readers and Teach Mentor Texts.

I currently have two books I’m working on: Rae Carson’s The Empire of Dreams and Come On In edited by Adi Alsaid. Carson’s novel sucked me in quickly, and I’m blowing through it. Alsaid’s edited collection is the first book in ALAN’s #ALANReads Summer Book Club. It was available as an audiobook in the first week of AudiobookSync this summer, but I’m actually working through the physical text.

As a shameless plug, the Twitter chat will be Wednesday night at 5 PM PT | 6 PM MT | 7 PM CT | 8 PM ET. We’ll use the hashtag #ALANReads, so you can find our convo there. I hope you can join us.

I’ll just leave these photos here. Have you read either of these? Thoughts? Will you be joining us on Wednesday?

5 comments

  1. Congrats on making it to summer! I haven’t heard of either of these books, but both of them sound excellent. And it’s great that your taste regarding historical fiction has changed—I don’t read it much, but I should try a few books from that genre. Thanks so much for the great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.